You must enable Javascript on your browser for the site to work optimally and display sections completely.
Login My trip
UaRuEn
Natural objects and reserves

Oleshkivski Sands

Oleshkivski Sands - is the second largest desert in Europe, which covers an area of about 1,600 square kilometers.
Like
Google Maps
Add to trip

Oleshkivski Sands

Oleshkivski Sands - is the second largest desert in Europe, which covers an area of about 1,600 square kilometers.

The origin of the Oleshkivski Sands significantly influenced the unique landscapes of the place. There is an interesting presumption that the desert was created in the result of the fact that the huge array of continental ice was moving through the ancient valley of the Dnipro river during the ice age. The glacier occasionally came from the north along the Dnipro riverbed and brought hundreds of kilometers of soil mass with it that remained after the ice thawed. This soil formed a natural dam that separated the lakes near the glacier from the lower part of the river bed. When glaciers melted, the water level in these lakes gradually climbed and the dam could not hold against the water pressure and broke down. The huge flow of water moving down from Dnipro to the Black Sea washed away everything on its way. Around the place where Nova Kakhovka is located, the current decreased and trillion tons of sand washed from the banks of the Dnipro, settled to the bottom and created a massive sand area.

Despite the fact that there has always been sand in the valleys of the Dnipro, the human activity strongly contributed to the spread of sands. Especially the active sheep farming conducted here in 18-19 centuries.

Cattle began to destroy the vegetation, thus increasing the size of sand dunes. As well as wind erosion, that has contributed highly to the expanding of the sand area.

Since the late 18th century actions were taken to control the spread of the sand area. Oleshkivski Forestry was created to support such actions. However, in the second half of the 19th century, after the land was given to farmers, forests were severely damaged by irrational use, which led to an increase in the sand dunes. To stop this process, active planting of pine forests, orchards and vineyards began. Therefore, it is correct to define Oleshkivski sands as a semi-desert. Desert is conventionally divided into seven arenas, each with different natural and climatic features.

Like all deserts, it consists of numerous bahrans, about 5 meters high (separate are up to 20 meters high), which move due to the wind. In summer the temperature of the sand reaches 75 ° C, the rains are rare, and sandstorms occur from time to time. Deep under the sand layer, fresh water can be found, but its use is strongly limited, as it is necessary for the desert growth containment. You can find a number of opportunities for active tourism at the Oleshkivski sands: hiking, biking, horseback riding, auto, motorcycle tours and trophy on the sand.

More
Less
Rates Reviews 4

Kherson region, Kherson region

46.596118 | 33.077642

(05534) 3-21-09

Location on Google

Review 4

Bogdan Malančuk

19.08.2018
Саме те, що я шукав! Дуже класно!
Information taken from google.com

Сергей Петренко

17.07.2018
Повинен відвідати кожен хто називає себе Херсонцем
Information taken from google.com

Vlad Tsurkan

18.06.2018
Хочеш побачити марсіанський ландшафт? Тобі сюди. Surreal !!!
Information taken from google.com

Artem Tykhonov

16.05.2017
Непогано. Гарне місце щоб покатати на мотоциклах чи фетбайках.
Information taken from google.com

Sign up for newsletters and deals from discover.net.ua and our partners

By clicking submit you agree to the Terms and Conditions.

Вы должны включить Javascript в вашем браузере для оптимальной работы сайта и отображения разделов полностью.
Вход
UaRuEn
Природные объекты

Олешковские пески

Олешковские пески - это вторая крупнейшая пустыня в Европе, занимает площадь около 1600 квадратных километров.
Мне нравится
Поехали!

Олешковские пески

Олешковские пески - это вторая крупнейшая пустыня в Европе, занимает площадь около 1600 квадратных километров.

Особенностью ландшафтов Олешковские пески обязаны своему происхождению. Существует интересное предположение, что создание пустыне стало результатом того, что в долине древнего Днепра по ледниковой эпохи двигался огромный массив континентального льда. Он периодически приходил с севера по руслу Днепра и приносил с собой сотни километров грунтовой массы, залищалася после таяния льдовика. Этот грунт формировал природные дамбы, отделяли прильодовикови озера от нижнего участка русла реки. А когда же ледник таял, уровень воды в этих озерах постепенно поднимался и в какой-то момент дамба не выдерживала напряжения и прорывалась. Огромный поток воды двигался Днепром к Черному морю и смывал все на своем пути. В районе сучаснии Новой Каховки, скорость потока уменьшалась и триллионы тонн песка, смытого с берегов Днепра, оседали на дно, что создало мощные песчаные арены.

Несмотря на то, что в определенном смысле пески всегда существовали в долинах Днепра, все же их распространению сильно способствовала человеческая деятельность. В 18-19 веках здесь велось активное животноводство, а именно овцеводство. Скот начала уничтожать растительный покров, таким образом увеличивая пространство для песков. К тому же расширение песчаного массива было усилено ветровой эрозией.

С конца 18 века начались работы с целью сдерживания распространения песков, было создано Олешковское лесничество для поддержания лесоразведения. Однако во второй половине 19 века, после наделения крестьян землей, леса сильно пострадали от нерационального природопользования, что привело к увеличению площади песков. Чтобы остановить этот процесс, началось активное насаждение сосновых лесных массивов, садов и виноградников. Поэтому, правильно определять Олешковские как полупустыню. Пустыню условно разделяют на 7 арен, каждая из которых отличается природными и климатическими особенностями.

Как и все пустыни, она состоит из многочисленных Бахрани высотой около 5 м (отдельные достигают высоты 20 м), передвигаются благодаря действию ветра. Летом температура песка достигает 75 ° C, кроме того здесь редко идут дожди, а иногда встречаются даже песчаные бури. Глубоко под песками находится пресноводный пласт, но его использование жестко ограничивается, ведь он необходим для сдерживания роста пустыне. На территории Олешковских песков есть все условия для активного туризма: пешеходные, велосипедные, конные и авто-мото походы и трофи по пескам.

Подробнее
Скрыть
Оценки Отзывы 4

Херсонская область, Херсонская область

46.596118 | 33.077642

(05534) 3-21-09

Location on Google

Отзывы 4

Bogdan Malančuk

19.08.2018
Саме те, що я шукав! Дуже класно!
Информация взята с google.com

Сергей Петренко

17.07.2018
Повинен відвідати кожен хто називає себе Херсонцем
Информация взята с google.com

Vlad Tsurkan

18.06.2018
Хочеш побачити марсіанський ландшафт? Тобі сюди. Surreal !!!
Информация взята с google.com

Artem Tykhonov

16.05.2017
Непогано. Гарне місце щоб покатати на мотоциклах чи фетбайках.
Информация взята с google.com

Подпишитесь на рассылку новостей и предложений от discover.net.ua и наших партнеров

Нажимая кнопку, вы соглашаетесь с Правилами и условиями.